Tórshavn (capital)



The National Library

The National Library was founded in 1828 as an independent institution. Later, in accordance with the Home Rule Act, it came under the control of the Faroese Government, and now operates under the Faroese Parliamentary Act of 2002.


The National Library has three main functions: to develop a comprehensive collection of all Faroese literature and as much literature as possible written about the Faroe Islands; to be the central library for all of the Faroes; and to be a library for scholars.

Printers have a statutory obligation to give the National Library four copies of all printed matter. The Library has the right to receive from printers free extra copies for use in the exchange of books with libraries abroad.


There are 15 public libraries and 11 school libraries in the Faroe Islands. Thirteen of the public libraries are small and are only open for a few hours each week. The National Library is responsible for purchasing and cataloguing books for most of these libraries. The Faroese Treasury defrays 60% of the operating cost of public and school libraries.


The desk will be staffed from 10 am until the library closes.


J. C. Svabosgøta 16
100 Tórshavn
Tórshavn (capital)

Opening hours

Monday 08:30 - 18:00
Tuesday 08:30 - 18:00
Wednesday 08:30 - 18:00
Thursday 08:30 - 18:00
Friday 08:30 - 17:00
Saturday Closed
Sunday Closed